Beijing's municipal administrative center officially moved to the city's sub-center in Tongzhou district Friday.


A flag raising ceremony is held at dawn on Jan. 11, 2019 in front of the new office building of Beijing Municipal Government in the new sub-center in Beijing's Tongzhou district. [Photo/CCTV]

The move was marked by a flag-raising ceremony attended by top officials of the municipal government, including Cai Qi, secretary of the CPC Beijing Municipal Committee, Chen Jining, deputy secretary of the CPC Beijing Municipal Committee and mayor, Li Wei, chairman of the Standing Committee of the Beijing Municipal People's Congress, and Ji Lin, chairman of the Beijing Municipal CPPCC Committee.

The newly unveiled municipal administrative center is located at the north bank of north canal of Lucheng town, Tongzhou district. The office area of the CPC Beijing Municipal Committee, the Standing Committee of the Beijing Municipal People's Congress, and the Beijing Municipal CPPCC Committee are located together in the south, and in the north lies the office area of the municipal government.

Cai pointed out that the planning and construction of Beijing's sub-center was a major decision made by the CPC Central Committee with General Secretary Xi Jinping at the core, and a major plan for the millennium and an important national event. Cai also mentioned that not long ago, the central government formally approved a detailed development plan for Beijing's sub-center, which fully embodies the great importance and concern that the CPC Central Committee attached to the work in Beijing.

Cai stressed that although the administrative center has moved to Tongzhou, the focus of work and services still lies in the main urban areas, and Beijing should thoroughly implement the strategic positioning of the capital, continue to vigorously strengthen its function as "four centers," and raise its service level. Cai said that by firmly promoting the construction of a world-class harmonious and livable city, Beijing will better serve the overall work of the Party and the state.

Up to present, 35 departments and 165 units have relocated to Tongzhou.